Create breakout rooms

Create breakout rooms

You are here:
< All Topics
  1. On your computer, start a video call.
  2. In the top right, click Activities  right arrow Breakout rooms.
  3. In the Breakout rooms panel, choose the number of breakout rooms. You can create up to 100 breakout rooms in a call.
  4. Call participants are then distributed across the rooms. To manually move people into different rooms, you can:
    • Enter the participant’s name directly into a breakout room.
    • Click the participant’s name. Hold down the mouse, drag the name, and then drop it into another breakout room.
    • To randomly mix up the groups again, click Shuffle .
  5. In the bottom right, click Open rooms.

Tip: A notification will show at the bottom of the screen when participants ask for help from the moderator. To join that participant’s breakout room, click Join. To return to that question later, click Later. On the breakout room panel, an “Asked for help” banner shows above rooms that ask for help.

 

Edit, join, or leave breakout rooms

Once you’ve created breakout rooms, you can make changes to the rooms or join each breakout room to monitor and participate in discussions.

Tip: Moderators won’t see chat messages that were exchanged between participants before they join or after they leave a breakout room.

  • To make changes to the participant groups or number of breakout rooms, click Edit rooms Edit. Once you’ve made your changes, click Save.
    • Tip: Before moving to a different room, participants must click Join. 
  • To join an individual breakout room, next to the breakout room number, click Join.
  • To leave all breakout rooms and return to the main room, next to the current breakout room, click Leave.

End breakout rooms

  1. In the breakout rooms panel, at the top right, click Close rooms Rooms.
  2. In the notification window that appears, click Close all rooms.

Important: Participants have 30 seconds to finish their breakout room discussion and will be asked to rejoin the main room. To bypass the 30 seconds and close all rooms immediately, on the breakout rooms panel, click Close rooms Rooms. Participants will have to click join to re-enter the main room even if you close all rooms immediately.

For video call participants

Join a breakout room

Your moderator will create breakout rooms and invite you to join one. Your moderator can join each breakout room at any time during the video call.

  1. On a computer or mobile device, sign in to your Google Account.
  2. Join a video call from your computer or the Meet mobile app. Learn the different ways to join a video call if you’re a student.
  3. When your moderator invites you to join a breakout room, you’ll see a prompt on your screen. Click Join. If you click cancel, you’ll remain in the main room.
    • Tip: If you dialed in through your phone, tap *2 to go to your breakout room, move between breakout rooms, or return to the main room.
  4. Once you’re in a breakout room, you can speak to or send chat messages to other participants.

Return to the main room

During a video call, you can choose to leave a breakout room and return to the video call’s main room.

  • On a computer: At the top, click Return to main call.
  • On a mobile device: At the top, tap to Return to main call.

When your moderator ends all of the breakout rooms, you’ll see a prompt that you’re returning to the main room. Click Return to main call.

Next Google Meet Add-in for Outlook Web Access
Table of Contents

Andrew Weber
Superintendent

Contact Info

500 Elwood Road
Elwood, NJ 08217

Phone: (609) 561-3868

Fax: 458 761-9562

Go to Top